Fish In The Sea

I have discovered that I can only conclude complicated thoughts through turning them into metaphors. Anything involving emotions is especially complex and open ended, but I’ve finally figured out how this one has made me feel:

At first, it was like we didn’t even dip our toes in the water

You just grabbed my hand and jumped in before I even had the chance to hold my breath

And for a while, I acted as if I was still coughing up water out of my lungs

Just to buy time and avoid getting back into the water

But I can’t pretend that I don’t know how to swim

And that I don’t enjoy the water

So this time we’ve decided to slip into it, stomach deep

And are testing the waters

Rather than risking diving into any unforeseen shallow parts

 

~Megan

Leave a Reply

