Thought It Was Poetry

I have never really been sure of how I wanted to make my place in the world, but recently I was talking with someone and had gotten pretty deep into my mind: I was simply putting down whatever was welling up and it just flowed out so smoothly. And they had replied with something somewhat irrelevant in a poetic fashion, so I’d asked why they had responded with something like that, and they responded with, “Oh… I thought we were doing poetry.”

There I was, just saying what was on my mind, but they thought of it as poetry. I cannot even express how it made me feel. I just remember feeling my chest open up and take in those words. I felt so strongly mostly because I associate poetry closely to inspiration. It was amazing to me that someone had thought of my words like that. It truly got to my soul. 

Inspiration is where I want my place to be.

~Megan

Leave a Reply

