Like Rain

I remember the way that you put your chin on my shoulder and looked at me when our friend got to the part of a quote  that read “…and I was gawky and she was gorgeous and I was hopelessly boring and she was endlessly fascinating…thinking that if people were rain, I was a drizzle and she was a hurricane.”

I couldn’t even turn my head to you because I knew the light that’d be in your eyes and I didn’t want you to feel that way for someone who had already and would proceed to wreck you in some way

You see, people enjoy a drizzle, especially on certain occasions

Like when it’s hot or when they want to walk a little in the rain

But have you ever heard a person ask for a hurricane?

And I sure lived up to that title because I drowned anything good in my own uncertainty and destroyed what was left with my own fear

Whether you are a drizzle or a thunderstorm, you still fascinate me

Even if people aren’t rain, I’m still destructive and you’re still comforting

~Megan

Leave a Reply

