Trick Candles

Falling in love with me is the easy part
I know that my eyes are blue and green for a reason; they were made for people to see the world in
You’ll see my words as stars and make constellations with my thoughts and see my mind as a galaxy and you’ll all of a sudden be interested in astronomy all over again
Staying in love with me is the hard part
When you finally realize what happens on the way to connecting the dots, you’ll see that every path has confusion and I’m not good with directions so I’ll send you in circles
The universe is infinite as far as we know
And we’ll never be able to understandably explain space and time and I’m on my own schedule
Sometimes I forget that the world keeps moving and clocks keep ticking even when I put my compassion on pause
And that scares people
People would get bored with asking the same questions every day that can’t be answered with a single response
I’m not a black abyss but I light fires that burn out and I lose my mind over trick candles
And I have thoughts that are dead and left behind but still burn bright to the unaware
You can make a wish upon a thought but somewhere it’s nonexistent and somewhere it causes destruction
I’m the most interesting redundancy
I’m an unanswerable question
Love is a word to a definition, but words aren’t enough for me and actions speak louder but my vision is shitty and I don’t understand the point of it all

~Megan

Leave a Reply

